The Choice

An evil sorcerer has taken you and the rest of the school hostage. He has already turned some of your classmates into animals and other strange creatures. He gives you the opportunity to join him in his evil deeds or to be turned into an animal yourself. Write an essay in which you mentally debate which choice to take.

Stage I – Excitement

A surreal opportunity to join a mysterious sorcerer in turning anyone into a strange creature and rule the school with my new-found ally/alien? Hell yes, count me in. The pure joy of joining hands with a supernatural being and undertaking a wicked act of epic proportions? Check. Watching my classmates slowly morph into bizarre, one-eyed monsters with no hands and legs, while I discuss politics and the weather with my otherworldly buddy? Check. Snapping my fingers with a wicked laugh and possessing supernatural powers? Check. Which one of these humans would you like to convert first, Mr Sorcerer?

Stage II – Reality

But wait. Mr Sorcerer doesn’t seem like a very nice guy. Apart from single-minded destruction of the human race, there’s nothing much on his mind. If all my classmates suddenly morphed into one eyed aliens and mysterious creatures, who would I have lunch with? Who would I beat 7-0 on FIFA? Who would I laugh with, cry with, and share every joyous moment of my life with? How could I forget those hilarious conversations I have with my friends every day that make no sense at all, but never fail to bring a smile to my face? What about that group project where none of us did any work at all, but thoroughly enjoyed the entire journey? I can’t forsake all those memories for Mr Evil here, right?

Stage III – Excitement 2.0

What if I was converted into a bird? Birds are so cool. Flying thousands of feet above the earth and looking down upon all the mere mortals who are destined to a terrestrial life is my lifelong dream. The view from up there would be so breathtakingly beautiful. Swooping down on those tiny little specks with deadly accuracy from high above the clouds with the air brushing past my wings and my razor-sharp claws instilling fear in the bravest of human hearts, all the while boasting enough speed to leave a Bugatti trailing in my wake? All day long, every day of the week.

Stage IV – The Decision

I have made my choice. Sorry Mr Sorcerer. You will need to find a different partner-in-crime after all.

Just make me a peregrine falcon.

Peregrine_Falcon_w02-44-013_l

Leave a Reply

