Sibling rivalry

“I don’t like her, grandma. Let’s leave her here. I don’t want a baby sister.” These were the exact words that came out of my mouth when I first saw my tiny, little sister wake up from her slumber, in my mother’s arms at the hospital. I didn’t like her. In fact, I detested her. I couldn’t bear the thought that she was going to be with me for the rest of my life. Or was I just jealous of all the attention she was getting?

So why exactly do we hate our siblings so much? (I’m talking about the great majority of people here). There are many possible theories for this particular question. Most of the time elder siblings envy the attention and love everybody seems to devote to the younger ones, while the younger ones resent the seemingly arrogant, know-it-all attitude of the older ones.

Being an elder brother to a cranky, attention demanding little sister, I have to say it is quite tough to argue in favour of the younger sibling, who can seemingly get whatever they want and get away with just about anything and everything. It is this grass is always greener on the other side attitude which creates all this friction between siblings. I’m certainly not saying all younger siblings are arrogant, little brats, but it is fair to say, they do have an unfair advantage when it comes to getting their way.

Now, let’s look at it from the other perspective. If you are a younger sibling, then you’ll agree that it pains you when you are all the time compared to your elder brother or sister. The bossy, seemingly superior attitude of your elder sibling only serves to make matters worse.
But, despite all this, even when you are forced to hand over the remote so your baby brother or sister can watch Disney channel, or when your elder sibling mocks you in front of your best friends, you can see that look of love in their eyes. It shows they care for you, and love you from the bottom of their heart, possibly even more than their own parents, and that they will always be there for you when you need them the most.

They just have a very different way of showing it. So, for now, elder siblings, hand over the remote. It’s time to watch Disney channel!

Leave a Reply

