A letter that changed my life

As I was walking back home after a long day’s work, I looked down to find a crumpled lying on the sidewalk. Cursing the guy who had chucked it onto the pavement, I was just about to toss it into the bin, when I saw a few words scribbled on the paper by someone who was certainly in a hurry. Reading the contents out of plain curiosity, I saw the following words that would change my life forever,

“Dear Son, I am longing to see you. It’s been so long. I want to take a last look at you before I say goodbye – Your loving father”
This letter is so close to my heart because it describes the aching of a father’s heart, her longing to see her son, and the desperation to look at her son for one last time. These words opened my eye to a father’s love, the vast debt that we owe our parents, who blessed us with the gift of life. Let’s dedicate this day to our loving parents in the wake of Father’s Day.

Leave a Reply

